Our Staff

Senior Leadership Team

NamePositionEmail
Jenny BernardPrincipaljenny@birdwood.school.nz
Viv CarrDeputy Principalvivc@birdwood.school.nz
Kevin MeikleSenior Team Leader & Room 1 Teacherkevinm@birdwood.school.nz
Sarah FinauJunior Team Leader (Acting) & Room 10 Teachersarahf@birdwood.school.nz
Hariata MatoeTe Puawaitanga Bilingual Team Leader (Acting) & Room 6B Teacherhariatam@birdwood.school.nz

Junior Team

NameRoom No.LevelEmail
Sarah Finau10Year 0 & 1sarahf@birdwood.school.nz
Stephanie Meredith11Year 1 & 2stephaniem@birdwood.school.nz
James Galliford9Year  3 & 4jamesg@birdwood.school.nz
Jess Lee8Year 3 & 4jessl@birdwood.school.nz

Senior Team

NameRoom No.LevelEmail
Kevin Miekle1Year 7 & 8kevinm@birdwood.school.nz
Simone Poggenpoel3Year 7 & 8simonep@birdwood.school.nz
Marcia Matthews7Year 5 & 6marciam@birdwood.school.nz
Ashika Devi5Year 5 & 6ashikad@birdwood.school.nz

Te Puawaitanga o Te Reo (Maori Bi-lingual Unit)

NameRoom No.LevelEmail
Hariata Matoe6BYear 4-6hariatam@birdwood.school
Hinemoa Carpenter (Mon-Wed)6AYear 1-3Hinemoac@birdwood.school.nz
Kris Hayward (Thurs-Fri)6AYear 1-3krish@birdwood.school.nz

Support Staff

NamePositionEmail
Debbie RitchieOffice Managerdebbier@birdwood.school.nz
Vicky AviaOffice Assistantvickya@birdwood.school.nz
Dennise MercerReading Recoverydennisem@birdwood.school.nz
Audra O’DonoghueReading Recoveryaudrao@birdwood.school.nz
Sylvia MasonLearning Assistant/Pouawhina
Fiu MuavaeLearning Assistant/Pouawhina
Sandy ReeveLearning Assistant/Pouawhina
Jan RodgersLearning Assistant/Pouawhina
Isabel WyattLearning Assistant/Pouawhina
Samila Bernard-KauhegaLearning Assistant/Pouawhina
Kauwiti SelwynLearning Assistant/Pouawhina
Paul HughesCaretaker
Annette TempestHealth Nurse
Jazzmin SpainSocial Worker in Schools