Our Staff

Senior Leadership Team

Name Position Email
Viv Carr Acting Principal principal@birdwood.school.nz
Kevin Meikle Acting Deputy Principal -Te Whare Kotahitanga Team Leader kevinm@birdwood.school.nz
Sarah Finau Timatanga Taonga Team Leader sarahf@birdwood.school.nz
Hariata Matoe Te Puawaitanga o Te Reo hariatam@birdwood.school.nz

Timatanga Taonga

Name Room No. Level Email
Sarah Finau Karekare Year 0 & 1 sarahf@birdwood.school.nz
Stephanie Meredith Muriwai Year  2 stephaniem@birdwood.school.nz
Marcia Matthews Piha Year  3 & 4 marciam@birdwood.school.nz
Ashley Stratton Te Henga Year 2 & 3 ashleys@birdwood.school.nz

Te Whare Kotahitanga

Name Room No. Level Email
Kevin Meikle Kauri & Nīkau Y 7 & 8 kevinm@birdwood.school.nz
Simone Poggenpoel Kauri & Nīkau Y 7 & 8 simonep@birdwood.school.nz
James Galiford Pōhutukawa & Rimu Y 5 & 6 jamesg@birdwood.school.nz
Jess Lee Pōhutukawa & Rimu Y 5 & 6 jessl@birdwood.school.nz

Te Puawaitanga o Te Reo (Maori Bi-lingual Unit)

Name Room No. Level Email
Hariata Matoe Ranginui Year 4-6 hariatam@birdwood.school
Elaine Hohepa Papatūānuku Year 1-3 elaineh@birdwood.school.nz

Support Staff

Name Position Email
Debbie Ritchie Office Manager debbier@birdwood.school.nz
Vicky Avia Office Assistant vickya@birdwood.school.nz
Meli Kaveinga Learning Support Coordinator melik@birdwood.school.nz
Sarah Divers Learning Coach sarahd@birdwood.school.nz
Audra O’Donoghue Reading Recovery audrao@birdwood.school.nz
Fola Temita CRT Release Teacher folat@birdwood.school.nz
Fiu Muavae Learning Assistant/Pouawhina
Sandy Reeve Learning Assistant/Pouawhina
Jan Rodgers Learning Assistant/Pouawhina
Isabel Wyatt Learning Assistant/Pouawhina
Samila Bernard-Kauhega Learning Assistant/Pouawhina
Sylvia Mason Learning Assistant/Pouawhina
Jess Kauhega Learning Assistant/Pouawhina
Angela O’Connell SWIS
Paul Hughes Caretaker
Samantha Brown Health Nurse